Tasty Tuesday… Fish Tacos

January 22, 2013

These tacos are inspired by A Cup of Jo’s best tacos you’ll ever have post… 

Like many recipes I try from blogs, this has become a regular fixture at home. I’ve made it several times when we have friends over… everyone has loved it.

spices

I have made it with salmon and trout, I also think a meaty white fish could be really good…

You need;
a bowl of delicious salsa… heres my version (add sweetcorn for extra colour)
2-3 tortillas per person 
1/2-1 fish fillet per person
for the fish;
1 tbsp. paprika
1 tbsp. cumin
1 tsp. chipotle chile powder
1/2 tsp. sea salt
limes for serving
(you can totally adapt this to what spices you have)

Joanna suggests serving with coriander, lime wedges and feta cheese… which I really want to try next time.

salmon

I pan-fried my fillets for a couple of minutes to crisp up the skin… then I added the spices to the top and rubbed into the fish before baking on some foil for 10 minutes – roughly… until cooked through.
You could also grill or BBQ your fish. 

When it’s all cooked flake the fish into a warm bowl with a fork. Let people help themselves.

trout

Sometimes I served this with all the normal taco works, guacamole, sour cream and cheese.

This time I served with some asparagus and peppers that I had pan-fried with fresh chillies, sliced avocado and salad. Made for a very healthy dinner. 

plated

I love tacos, possibly one of my favourite foods to eat, especially on a casual friday with a movie… 

table

Yum! 

taco

Leave a Reply

