Koh Lanta

February 27, 2012

More island photographs, can you handle it?

I am not sure I can.

We have been back for over two weeks now, and I am not going to lie it has been tougher than we thought settling back in. The main thing that is making it all feel okay has been hanging out with our friends. Big love to everything who has been helping pull us from our holiday blues.

So anyway I want to tell you all about Koh Lanta.

It’s one of Thailand’s larger islands, set between Phi Phi and the mainland, it is very sleepy and chilled and felt to us very much like a family place. We saw lots of kids and the majority of accommodation and restaurants are based along the beaches.

It’s all about the beach life here.

We arrived early evening and hot footed it to the beach to watch the sunset, this island is perfectly placed to watch it go down over the sea.

It was pretty perfect.

We were staying on Long Beach for the first couple of nights, and watched right to the end and ate at the cutest Indian restaurant right on the beach.

One of those amazing nights where you are content and relaxed loving your holiday.

This was our little house for the first few nights. We stayed at a place called Pearl Beach, they have a great bar and restaurant but were not directly on the beach and there was no pool. The only reasons we moved on really.

 The resort is run as a family and all the staff were lovely. I do recommend it here.

Our next spot was on the next beach along and we had a room in the attic of a little house. It was so cute!

They had these little tables along the beach where we ate breakfast everyday and I often sheltered from the sun in the afternoon with an iced coffee.

I actually don’t remember what this resort was called but it wasn’t amazing and a little scruffy, as were a lot of the resorts here, if you come here as a family with only a week or two I suggest you spend a little more to get a nice place. The difference between some of the better resorts at the ends of most beaches and the older ones was huge.

The thing seems to be light your restaurant with 1000 lanterns to attract your customer.

Everywhere we went was so cute, with huge amounts of fairy lights or chinese lanterns. Why don’t we do that more? I love it.

I chose most of the places we ate purely by their light display.

It was all about the beach BBQ for us most evening, picking out your fish or squid or prawns which were then served with an array of Thai sides or even BBQ sweetcorn or baked potatoes.

And very strong banana daiquiri’s.

There are some activities on Koh Lanta as well, one of which we decided to do – ride elephants and canoe on the river.

I have to say at this point I wouldn’t recommend this. It really depends on how you feel about animals, and I am pretty sure these elephants are well looked after and treated well, however I do not think our elephant was up for having a couple of people riding around on him so I didn’t really enjoy it.

I just felt guilty the whole time, I wouldn’t do it again and I should have known I would feel this way given how I feel about zoos.

He definitely had other things he’d have rather been doing, he kept stopping and huffing.

As part of our day we also went on a canoeing trip down the river and feed some wild monkeys. These dudes were crazy as soon as they saw us jumping in the river and swimming out to us making sure they got the first banana!

We did eventually get to the shore with some left and they hopped into our boats.

I loved this, it always crazy being so close to animals living in the wild.

We enjoyed a few ice cream sundaes with green ice cream, I have no idea what flavour it was, sugar I think 😉

We also had several days of constant rain, heavy big fat drops rain, the best kind. Unless all you planned on doing on topping up your tan.

So we decided on the second day to go with it and get drunk in our room rather than spend the day running in and out of shelter.

We got supplies, Sansong and watched movies all day.

It was actually refreshing and when the sun came back we were itching to get out and do stuff.

I loved these cute little VW cocktail vans that we spotted throughout Thailand, I’d love to set one up here but I doubt it’d it would even be possible.

One of our favourite places was called Fat Monkey, where my Husband ate crispy chicken skin! Crazy good he said. One of the few times we left the beach and hung around on the main road.

 

So although we didn’t have the most exciting time on Koh Lanta I do think I’d go back, especially if we went with children it’s fairly undiscovered so the beaches are pretty untouched and it’s cheap. Perfect holiday island, as long as you are happy chilling on the beaches and not much more.

Leave a Reply

