Independent Woman

October 5, 2011

So as you may know (if you follow me on Twitter you definitely do) my Husband has gone to Nepal.

It may seem strange that we are apart so soon after our wedding but actually this trip has been planned since before our engagement and the real reason I am not going is because it is something he has always wanted to do, and it is not for me to interrupt his dream trip. He is going to study Buddhism and travel about on his own. It will be amazing.

I am trying to embrace it and to be honest I wasn’t that worried about it beyond having to say goodbye to my best friend for a month. I think it will be good for us to miss each other, especially for such a long period.

However I am finding it hard without him. 

So this month is all about me working hard for our big trip and to see my friends a lot. It is also a chance for me to be independent again, something I sometimes don’t think I am anymore.

I depend on my Husband a lot, for a lot of different things and that will not stop, it is the way it should be. I like to be looked after and I hope Adam likes looking after me. I certainly love looking after him.
We are not the couple that spend all their time together, we have lots of different groups of friends that we regularly hang out with on our own.

It not about any of that, more about me feeling more confident about being on my own, I like my own company in my own bubble but the minute I am outside of my comfort zone I become a little girl again.
For example I was in London seeing friends at the weekend, and without my Husband by my side I was scared, scared of getting on the wrong tube and getting lost, scared of random men chatting to me, scared of being mugged… it goes on. it is silly.

But nothing bad happened, I didn’t get lost and I had a great time.

Basically what I am trying to say is that I am realising I was already independent where I needed to be, and it is no bad thing to depend on someone you love, and for them to look after you. 
But I do need to and want to step outside of my comfort zones a LOT more, and take on more responsibility in my life.

Because I am a grown up independent woman, not a little girl.

This month and the upcoming trip is a big part of that. I am very excited!

Photograph from here

 

2 Responses to “Independent Woman”

  1. John Says:

    I think it is good to somehow be able find contentment in any situation you are in. Not all situations are happy or chosen, but it is a glass half full sort of thing.

    In general, I don’t think humans are well suited to independence – we need each other. We all benefit from good relationships, friendships, family and community life.


Leave a Reply

