Black Swan

January 23, 2011

I love going to the Ballet and cry nearly every time, why Ballets are always so sad!

The greatest Ballet of all time has to be Swan Lake, the costumes, the beautiful, tragic story and the ending… it kills me. I remember having a performance on video as a little girl and watching it over and over, crying my eyes out.

Black Swan, directed by Darren Aronofsky is a story about a girl who gets her dream; to play the Swan Queen in Swan Lake, how the role affects her and her struggle to be perfect.

Natalie Portman plays Nina, who wins the role and struggles with the pressure, she is so so good, she deserves an Oscar.

For the most part she is wide eyed, tearful, innocent and vulnerable… the perfect white swan…

But she struggles with her black swan, it’s just not her…

but then she does it, she just has a breakthrough and the transformation is incredible, Natalie who does the wide eyes, teary girl so well changes, her whole body and face just change…

I was scared in places, uncomfortable in places and utterly transfixed the whole time on the edge of my seat.

The end is amazing, I sat there as the titles went up thinking that was a great movie, the last words threw me! Then I felt this lump rise up and suddenly I was crying, literally sobbing. My poor bf didn’t know what to do, I was overcome and I could not stop.

I couldn’t speak for about 10 minutes.

I know this sounds over dramatic, but that has never happened to me before, normally you know you’re going to try you feel it coming, this came out of no-where!

Amazing amazing amazing.

Is it perfect, the story of Swan Lake is tragic and beautiful and this movie has that story within its own story, its amazing, I don’t remember being as affected by any movie as much as this.

Leave a Reply

